The Tinder Press Edit: September

September 1, 2016

We hope you have enjoyed a summer of delightful Tinder Press ebooks for 99p. As we move into Autumn, Tinder Press is visiting the big skies of North America for the September Edit; do take a trip with us, and pick up one (or all!) of these gems for a bargain price.

A PLACE CALLED WINTER Patrick Gale

9781472205315A Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller in both hardback and paperback, A Place Called Winter was also shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award, the Walter Scott Prize and the Green Carnation Award.

To find yourself, sometimes you must lose everything.

A shy but privileged elder son, Harry Cane has followed convention at every step. Even the beginnings of an illicit, dangerous affair do little to shake the foundations of his muted existence – until the shock of discovery and the threat of arrest force him to abandon his wife and child and sign up for emigration to Canada.

Remote and unforgiving, his allotted homestead in a place called Winter is a world away from the golden suburbs of turn-of-the-century Edwardian England. And yet it is here, isolated in a seemingly harsh landscape, under the threat of war and madness that the fight for survival will reveal in Harry an inner strength and capacity for love beyond anything he has ever known before.

‘This is an intensely personal book. Gale was inspired by a true tale from his own family history, and the depth of feeling shows… his most powerfully moving novel yet’ Independent 

‘Patrick Gale has written a book which manages to be both tender and epic, and carries the unmistakeable tang of a true story. I loved it’ Jojo Moyes

‘A tender tale of loss and love’ Sunday Times

Find the ebook here:

Amazon

Kobo

Google Books

iBooks

THE MOUNTAIN CAN WAIT Sarah Leipciger

Hugely critically acclaimed, Sarah Leipciger’s debut novel is 9781472223890perfect for fans of Brokeback Mountain and Legend of a Suicide; a stunning exploration of the wilds of Canada.

A young man is driving home from a party through the Canadian woods when suddenly a girl appears in his headlights.  In an instant, he hits her, and in another instant decides to keep driving, leaving more than one life shattered.

Tom Berry is a hunter, a man who would be most content living out his days in the wilderness with just enough ammunition and kerosene to last the winter.  A single father, he has raised his children, Curtis and Erin, with the same absolute dedication he brings to his forestry business, but now he’s discovering that might not have been enough.

When the police contact Tom to tell him that Curtis has gone missing, Tom knows at once that only he can find his son.  Tom must come down from the mountain to embark on a journey through a stunning yet scarred landscape that ends on the rocky shores of a remote island, where old hurts will finally come to light.

‘The heart of this story is the love between father and son, and the backdrop is spectacular; Leipciger’s descriptions of the scenery are splendid and intensely evocative’ The Times

‘A deft and beautiful novel about all that is untameable and wild, in both the landscape and in ourselves’ Maggie O’Farrell

‘A tragedy about a silent father and a wounded son… rigorous beauty’ New York Times

Find the ebook here:

Amazon

Kobo

Google Books

iBooks

A SMALL PART OF HISTORY Peggy Elliott

9780755344550Kate Atkinson called this novel ‘thoughtful, thought-provoking and incredibly atmospheric’; the story of an epic journey the settlers of America embarked upon, but finally from a woman’s perspective.

In the summer of 1845 Rebecca Springer and her family join the Oregon wagon train in search of land thousands of miles away. It’s a hard and dangerous journey through blizzards and searing heat, over prairies, desert plains and mountains and, at times, it seems as if it will never end. But an unbreakable bond develops amongst the travelling women as they are tested, physically and emotionally, and their shared experiences of new life and tragic death will bring them closer than blood ever could.

A Small Part of History is an epic, heartfelt story of courage in the face of appalling adversity, and a haunting portrayal of how America was forged. Above all, it is a story of people and how the ties that bind us most strongly are those of friendship, of family and of love.

‘Brilliant. I finished it in a few hours’ Martina Cole

‘A masterpiece’ The Bookbag

Find the ebook here:

 

Amazon

Kobo

Google Books

 

MORE FROM THE TINDER PRESS BLOG

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *