The Tinder Press Edit: December

December 1, 2016

And so here we are – the end of the year, the end of the Edit. We have laughed, we have cried, we have read bestsellers and prize-winners – but all good things must come to an end. There’s a distinct bite to the air, which signals winter is no longer coming, it has officially come. All our titles this month celebrate the colder months, along with a little bit of festivity thrown in, of course. Don’t miss your chance to snap up these three literary gems for 99p.

THE SNOW CHILD Eowyn Ivey

9780755380534-6THE SNOW CHILD is a perennial classic, a Pulitzer prize finalist and an international bestseller that brings the Alaskan landscape to life

Alaska, the 1920s. Jack and Mabel have staked everything on a fresh start in a remote homestead, but the wilderness is a stark place, and Mabel is haunted by the baby she lost many years before. When a little girl appears mysteriously on their land, each is filled with wonder, but also foreboding: is she what she seems, and can they find room in their hearts for her?

Written with the clarity and vividness of the Russian fairy tale from which it takes its inspiration, The Snow Child is an instant classic.

‘It’s the harsh beauty of the landscape that gives this stunning first novel its unique shape and atmosphere’ The Times

‘It is an exceptional book that deserves to melt millions of hearts’ Sunday Express

‘A story about finding love in unexpected places… full of fire and ice’ Financial Times

Find the ebook here:

Amazon

Kobo

Google Books

iBooks

THE SNOW KIMONO Mark Henshaw

Not only a brilliant piece of literary fiction but also a thriller, THE SNOW KIMONO casts a unique spell over the reader; in the vein of Ruth Ozeki and AD Miller.

9781472225696

On the same day that a retired French police inspector receives a letter from a woman claiming to be his daughter, he returns to his apartment to find a stranger waiting for him on his doorstep. That stranger is a Japanese man called Tadashi Omura, and the men end up telling each other their life stories, transporting us back to Japan and Algeria. As we try and work out the connection between the two men, one thing that’s clear is that they’ve both led lives that have been extraordinary, dangerous and built on layers upon layers of lies.

‘A novel of exquisite beauty, which evades categorisation’ The Times

‘A striking piece of work, with all the intricate, precise beauty of an origami bird’ Lady

‘Gripping… each chapter builds on the one before, unfolding through levels of story to unpack deeper and deeper truths’ Guardian

Find the ebook here:

Amazon

Kobo

Google Books

iBooks

THE CHRISTMAS TREE Jennifer Johnston

9780747262589Jennifer Johnston is one of Ireland’s most critically acclaimed novelists, a Costa prize winner and Booker shortlistee. THE CHRISTMAS TREE is one of her most emotional and moving novels. For all those who get a little overwhelmed by the schmaltz of Christmas, this is the perfect antidote…

Constance Keating has lived a life of internal exile, alienated from her family and from Ireland.

Now she has returned to her family home to die. While that painful, messy process takes place she replays, like a home movie, the fragments of her past. And, as the festooned Christmas tree awaits its day, so Constance also waits, hoping her child’s father will come and that the final outcome will be on her terms.

‘It is difficult to convey the marvellous quality of this book. Constance Keating is a major fictional portrait’ Daily Telegraph

‘The ending brings more than a lump to the throat.  It is magnificent’ Daily Express

‘A most distinguished novel’ Irish Press

Find the ebook here:

Amazon

Kobo

Google Books

iBooks

 

MORE FROM THE TINDER PRESS BLOG

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *